DOGEVERA RESEARCH · Projet Research 001
Essais sur la moule verte chez le chien : formulation, dose, durée et période de washout
Un jeu de données par étude sur les essais publiés concernant la moule verte chez le chien : 21 enregistrements d'études issus de 18 publications, dont des essais non indexés dans Europe PMC. Il recense la formulation, la dose telle que rapportée et rapportée au poids corporel (calculs indiqués), la durée du traitement, les périodes de washout avant l'inclusion et entre les périodes, les comparateurs, le financement et le chevauchement des chiens entre publications. Il ne regroupe ni n'évalue les résultats d'efficacité. Chaque enregistrement a été vérifié par rapport à sa source ; les auteurs des études sont invités à vérifier leurs essais, et leurs réponses seront intégrées dans les versions ultérieures.
Pour les chercheurs, les vétérinaires et les lecteurs qui examinent les données publiées. Ces jeux ne regroupent pas les résultats d’efficacité et n’évaluent pas l’efficacité des produits ; le jeu HMB vérifie aussi les allégations commerciales selon les sources citées.
Ces ressources visent à faciliter l'examen des données publiées. Elles ne remplacent ni les conseils vétérinaires ni la recherche évaluée par les pairs.
Enregistrements des études
Les champs ci-dessous reproduisent le CSV publié en anglais. Les cellules vides restent vides ; consultez le jeu complet et son fichier README pour les méthodes et limites.
| Entrée | Étude | Année | Chiens | Forme / produit | Formulation | Dose rapportée | Durée | Comparateur | Financement | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| R001-01 | Bierer TL, Bui LM. Improvement of arthritic signs in dogs fed green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus). J Nutr. 2002;132(6 Suppl 2):1634S-1636S. Study 1 (powder). | 2002 | 32 as reported at baseline (Control 15, GLM 17); figures report 15 and 17. Authors state that dogs not completing the study 'were dropped from the results and are not included here'; the number dropped is NR, so the true number randomised may be higher. | GLM powder supplied by McFarlane Laboratories, Australia | A - whole/freeze-dried powder | >34 kg = 1000 mg GLM powder/d; 34-25 kg = 750 mg/d; <25 kg = 450 mg/d | 6 weeks | Control diet (same base diet, no GLM) | Supported by Waltham USA; both authors at Waltham USA; symposium sponsored by Waltham Centre for Pet Nutrition | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1634S |
| R001-02 | Bierer & Bui 2002 (as above). Study 2 (GLM incorporated into a semi-moist treat). | 2002 | 33 as reported at baseline (Control 16, GLM treat 17); figures report 16 and 17. Authors state that dogs not completing the study 'were dropped from the results and are not included here'; the number dropped is NR, so the true number randomised may be higher. | PEDIGREE JointCare Treats (Mars) | B - incorporated into food/treat | >34 kg = 1000 mg GLM/d (2 pieces); 34-25 kg = 750 mg/d (1.5 pieces); <25 kg = 450 mg/d (1 piece) | 6 weeks | Control diet, no treats | As Study 1 | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1634S |
| R001-03 | Bierer & Bui 2002 (as above). Study 3 (GLM incorporated into a dry main meal at 0.3%). | 2002 | 31 as reported at baseline (Control 17, GLM main meal 14). Authors state that dogs not completing the study 'were dropped from the results and are not included here'; the number dropped is NR, so the true number randomised may be higher. | WALTHAM Veterinary Diet Canine Joint Support | B - incorporated into food/treat | Final inclusion level of 0.3% GLM powder; 'designed to deliver a GLM dosage similar to that of the two previous studies' | 6 weeks | Control diet (same recipe without GLM) | As Study 1 | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1634S |
| R001-04 | Bui LM, Bierer TL. Influence of green lipped mussels (Perna canaliculus) in alleviating signs of arthritis in dogs. Vet Ther. 2003;4(4):397-407. (A second PubMed record, Vet Ther 2001;2(2):101-111, PMID 19753702, carries an identical abstract.) | 2003 | 31 | NR (abstract only; full text not accessed) | B - incorporated into food/treat | 0.3% GLM powder in dry diet | 6 weeks | Same base diet without GLM | NR (abstract only; full text not accessed) | https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15136981/ |
| R001-05 | Dobenecker B, Beetz Y, Kienzle E. A placebo-controlled double-blind study on the effect of nutraceuticals (chondroitin sulfate and mussel extract) in dogs with joint diseases as perceived by their owners. J Nutr. 2002;132(6 Suppl 2):1690S-1691S. | 2002 | 70 randomised; 58 completed | Greenshell mussel powder; Waitaki, New Zealand | A - whole/freeze-dried powder | 11 mg mussel extract per kg body weight per day | 12 weeks | Placebo (55.5% wheat-malt meal, 30% oat flakes, honey, 1% soybean oil, chicken extract, cellulose); chondroitin sulfate 22 mg/kg/d | Not reported (symposium sponsored by Waltham) | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1690S |
| R001-06 | Servet E, Biourge V, Marniquet P. Dietary intervention can improve clinical signs in osteoarthritic dogs. J Nutr. 2006;136(7 Suppl):1995S-1997S. | 2006 | 91 recruited; 85 completed | Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Mobility Support | B - incorporated into food/treat | GLM powder 0.3% of finished feed | Fed 45 d after 5-d transition; assessed at day 50 | None (previous diets as baseline) | Financial support provided by Royal Canin; all authors at Royal Canin Research Center | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/136.7.1995S |
| R001-07 | Pollard B, Guilford WG, Ankenbauer-Perkins KL, Hedderley D. Clinical efficacy and tolerance of an extract of green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus) in dogs presumptively diagnosed with degenerative joint disease. N Z Vet J. 2006;54(3):114-118. | 2006 | 142 presented; 84 eligible; 81 analysed (3 excluded); 70 with complete datasets for repeated-measures ANOVA | SF4 Dog (McFarlane Laboratories NZ Ltd); 125 mg GLME + 52.86 mg brewer's yeast + 191.50 mg lactose + tableting aid per tablet | A? - 'GLME' tablet (form not specified; same supplier as R001-01 powder) | By body weight: 5-15 kg 3 tablets; 16-20 kg 5; 21-25 kg 6; 26-45 kg 8; 46-65 kg 9 (125 mg GLME per tablet), daily | 56 days blinded; + 56 days open-label GLME for all dogs (to day 112) | Placebo tablet: same ingredients with GLME replaced by dried fin-fish | McFarlane Laboratories NZ Ltd provided financial support; stated objective of open-label phase was 'to provide the manufacturer ... with commercially-relevant information' | https://doi.org/10.1080/00480169.2006.36622 |
| R001-08 | Hielm-Bjorkman A, Tulamo RM, Salonen H, Raekallio M. Evaluating complementary therapies for canine osteoarthritis Part I: green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus). Evid Based Complement Alternat Med. 2009;6(3):365-373. | 2009 | 51 allocated; 45 completed (15 per group) | Lyproflex 500 mg (ICENI, OMNI nutraceuticals / Biofarm Oy, Finland) | A - whole/freeze-dried powder | 4 (<=40 kg BW) or 6 (>40 kg) capsules/day for 10 days, then half of the loading dose; authors: 'an initial dose of 20-49 mg/kg/day' | 8 weeks (+ follow-up at week 12) | Placebo (lactose capsules) and carprofen 2 mg/kg BID | Finnish Foundation of Veterinary Research; Helvi Knuuttila Foundation; force plate purchase funded by grants incl. Finnish Kennel Club, Pfizer Finland, Boehringer Ingelheim, Vetcare Finland, Heel | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC2722199/ |
| R001-09 | Mongkon N, Soontornvipart K. Preliminary study of the clinical outcome of using PCSO-524 polyunsaturated fatty acid compound in the treatment of canine osteoarthritis and degenerative spinal diseases. Thai J Vet Med. 2012;42(3):311-317. | 2012 | 84 (31 hip/shoulder OA; 33 stifle OA after CCL rupture; 20 cauda equina) | PCSO-524, 50 mg/capsule (MacLab, Nelson, NZ) | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 50 mg per 10 kg daily | Stated 12 weeks; clinical assessment at weeks 2 and 4; radiographs at weeks 4 and 12 | None | Not reported | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/10987 |
| R001-10 | Rialland P, Bichot S, Lussier B, et al. Effect of a diet enriched with green-lipped mussel on pain behavior and functioning in dogs with clinical osteoarthritis. Can J Vet Res. 2013;77(1):66-74. | 2013 | 30 enrolled; 23 completed (4 did not complete; 3 excluded for non-compliance) | Medi-Cal/Royal Canin Mobility Support JS (large breed); control: Purina Dog Chow | B - incorporated into food (multi-component therapeutic diet) | GLM content NR. Diet guaranteed analysis: EPA 0.45%, DHA 0.20%, glucosamine 1900 mg/kg, chondroitin 100 mg/kg (control diet: none) | 60 days GLM diet (after 30-day control period; 14-day transitions) | Preceding control-diet period (same dogs) | Unrestricted operating grant from Medi-Cal/Royal Canin Canada, 'used for study design, interpretation of data, and critical revision of the manuscript'; CFI and NSERC grants | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3525174/ |
| R001-11 | Soontornvipart K, Mongkhon N, Nganvongpanit K, Kongtawelert P. Effect of PCSO-524 on OA biomarkers and weight-bearing properties in canine shoulder and coxofemeral osteoarthritis. Thai J Vet Med. 2015;45(2):157-165. | 2015 | 66 | PCSO-524 (MacLab, Nelson, NZ) | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 50 mg/10 kg body weight once daily | 24 weeks in text; Table 2 lists '(8 weeks)' | Fish oil (EPA 180 + DHA 120 mg per 1000 mg capsule); text '1,000 mg/dog twice daily', Table 2 '1 capsule per dog once daily' | Not reported | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/35230 |
| R001-12 | Kongwut S, Soontornvipart K, Sarikaphuti M, Makoom P, Nganvongpanit K. Effect of serum IL-1beta of PCSO-524 and firocoxib in dogs undergoing medial patellar luxation repair. Thai J Vet Med. 2015;45(4):639-643. | 2015 | 30 | PCSO-524 | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 10 mg/kg twice daily | 2 weeks | Firocoxib 5 mg/kg SID; firocoxib + PCSO-524 | Chulalongkorn University funds (scholarship; Rachadapisek Sompote Fund) | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/43534 |
| R001-13 | Kwananocha I, Vijarnsorn M, Kashemsant N, Lekcharoensuk C. Effectiveness of disease modifying osteoarthritis agents and carprofen for treatment of canine osteoarthritis. Thai J Vet Med. 2016;46(3):363-371. | 2016 | 49 enrolled; 40 analysed (10 per group) | PCSO-524 (50 mg + olive oil 100 mg per capsule) | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | Two capsules, q12hr PO (fixed, not weight-based) | 4 weeks | Carprofen 2.2 mg/kg BID; glucosamine-chondroitin-ASU; carprofen + PCSO-524 | Pharmalink International (partial research funding, acknowledgements) | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/69477 |
| R001-14 | Vijarnsorn M, Kwananocha I, Kashemsant N, et al. The effectiveness of marine based fatty acid compound (PCSO-524) and firocoxib in the treatment of canine osteoarthritis. BMC Vet Res. 2019;15:349. Correction: BMC Vet Res. 2020;16 (competing interests). | 2019 | 82 enrolled; 79 analysed | Antinol (Pharmalink); 50 mg PCSO-524 + 100 mg olive oil per capsule | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 4 capsules/day, q24hr PO (fixed) | 28 days | Firocoxib 5 mg/kg SID (+ PCSO-524 placebo: sunflower seed oil capsule) | Funded by Pharmalink International Ltd. | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6798752/ |
| R001-15 | Corbee RJ. The efficacy of a nutritional supplement containing green-lipped mussel, curcumin and blackcurrant leaf extract in dogs and cats with osteoarthritis. Vet Med Sci. 2022;8:1025-1035. | 2022 | Dogs: 39 recruited; 32 completed (cats reported separately, excluded here) | Synopet Cani-Syn (Synofit Europe B.V.) | E - multi-ingredient product | 10-30 kg: 5 mL/day; 30-45 kg: 7.5 mL/day; >45 kg: 10 mL/day (Table 1) | Table 1: 40 days of treatment per period (>=10 kg); text: '16 weeks per period' | Placebo (water, locust bean gum, colourants, synthetic fish aroma) | Product and placebo provided by Synofit Europe B.V.; funding source otherwise NR in PMC version | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9122405/ |
| R001-16 | Kampa N, Kaenkangploo D, Jitpean S, et al. Study of the effectiveness of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate, marine based fatty acid compounds (PCSO-524 and EAB-277), and carprofen for the treatment of dogs with hip osteoarthritis. Front Vet Sci. 2023;10:1033188. PCSO-524 arm. | 2023 | 85 enrolled (10 dropouts); 75 analysed | Antinol (Pharmalink); 50 mg PCSO-524 + 100 mg olive oil per capsule | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 5 mg/kg body weight (1 capsule/10 kg) q24hr | 6 weeks | Placebo (sunflower seed oil capsule); glucosamine/chondroitin; EAB-277; carprofen | Funded by Pharmalink International Ltd.; supported by Khon Kaen University | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9929184/ |
| R001-17 | Kampa et al. 2023 (as R001-16). EAB-277 arm. | 2023 | As R001-16 | Antinol Rapid (Pharmalink); 50 mg EAB-277 per capsule | D - GLM lipid + krill oil (EAB-277) | 5 mg/kg body weight q24hr | 6 weeks | As R001-16 | As R001-16 | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9929184/ |
| R001-18 | Kampa N, Kaenkangploo D, Jitpean S, et al. Evaluation of the comparative efficacy of green lipped mussel plus krill oil extracts (EAB-277), Biota orientalis extracts or NSAIDs for the treatment of dogs with osteoarthritis associated pain. Front Vet Sci. 2024;11:1464549. | 2024 | 101 | Antinol Rapid (Pharmalink) | D - GLM lipid + krill oil (EAB-277) | 1 capsule per 10 kg body weight twice daily | 6 weeks | Placebo (sunflower oil); 4CYTE Epiitalis Forte; meloxicam | Funded by Pharmalink International Ltd.; supported by Khon Kaen University | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11500327/ |
| R001-19 | Cave N, Bolton S, Cogger N. A pilot study to detect the effects of a green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus) nutraceutical on working farm dogs with musculoskeletal abnormalities using accelerometry. N Z Vet J. 2024. | 2024 | 32 enrolled; 27 analysed | Lintbells Ltd. product (brand not named) | A? - full fat GLM extract/powder in tablet | 1 tablet/day containing 180 mg or 220 mg full fat GLME (~1 g tablet) | 8 weeks per period | Placebo tablet | Funded by Lintbells Ltd. (manufacturer) | https://doi.org/10.1080/00480169.2024.2379966 |
| R001-20 | Kashemsant N, Panitsillapakit P, Vijarnsorn M, Lekcharoensuk C, Yangtara S, Pooliam J, Lascelles BDX. Short-term effects of meloxicam and marine-based fatty acid compounds on objective limb loading and owner-reported outcomes in dogs with hip osteoarthritis: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Preprints.org, posted 20 Sep 2026 (not peer reviewed). | 2026 | 313 screened; 203 randomised; 198 completed week 4 (modified ITT, available-case) | Antinol / Antinol Rapid (Pharmalink); capsule content not stated | C and D | PCSO-524 'target dose of 5 mg/kg once daily'; EAB-277 'target dose of 5 mg/kg once daily' | 4 weeks | Placebo (sunflower-oil capsule + meloxicam vehicle, double-dummy); meloxicam 0.1 mg/kg; meloxicam + PCSO-524 | Pharmalink International Ltd. (study-related expenses and study products); in-kind support from Kasetsart University | https://doi.org/10.20944/preprints202609.1701.v1 |
| R001-21 | Kim et al. Efficacy and safety assessment of a dietary supplement in a rat model of osteoarthritis and dogs with arthritic signs. Animals. 2025;15(13):1825. Canine component only. | 2025 | 30 dogs | BYVET JOINT HEAL (EreBon, Korea; manufactured by Nutrizone Corp., Auckland, NZ) | E - multi-ingredient product | 1 g for dogs <5 kg, 2 g for 5-10 kg, 3 g for 10-20 kg, 4 g for >20 kg (product per day) | 8 weeks | None (before-after) | Funded by EreBon Co. (#23-018), which also paid the publication charge and supervised adherence to protocol; ethics approval by EreBon Corp. IACUC | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12249017/ |
Comment citer
Tang, M. (2026). Canine green-lipped mussel trials: formulation, dose, duration and washout (Dogevera Research 001) (Version 1.0) [Data set]. Zenodo. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23253764
Licence : CC BY 4.0Téléchargements et documentation
Déclaration de transparence
Dogevera est une entreprise commerciale dédiée au bien-être canin. Elle vend des produits à base de moule verte, objet du projet Research 001, et un complément contenant du HMB, objet du projet Research 002. Dogevera Research est une initiative d'organisation des données scientifiques gérée par Dogevera ; elle rapporte ce que montrent les études, quel que soit le sens des résultats. Sauf mention explicite, les auteurs des études citées n'ont ni examiné ni approuvé ces ressources et n'ont pas participé à leur préparation. Les corrections sont les bienvenues à morty@dogevera.com et seront mentionnées.
