DOGEVERA RESEARCH · Progetto Research 001
Studi sulla cozza verde nei cani: formulazione, dose, durata e periodo di washout
Un dataset per singolo studio sugli studi pubblicati sulla cozza verde nei cani: 21 record di studio tratti da 18 pubblicazioni, inclusi studi non indicizzati in Europe PMC. Riporta formulazione, dose riportata e normalizzata sul peso corporeo (con i calcoli indicati), durata del trattamento, periodi di washout prima dell'arruolamento e tra i periodi, comparatori, finanziamento e sovrapposizione dei cani tra pubblicazioni. Non aggrega né valuta i risultati di efficacia. Ogni record è stato verificato sulla fonte originale; gli autori degli studi sono invitati a controllare i propri studi e le loro risposte saranno incluse nelle versioni successive.
Per ricercatori, veterinari e lettori che esaminano le evidenze pubblicate. Questi dataset non aggregano risultati di efficacia né valutano l’efficacia dei prodotti; il dataset HMB verifica anche le affermazioni commerciali rispetto alle fonti citate.
Queste risorse servono a rendere più agevole l'esame delle evidenze pubblicate. Non sostituiscono il parere veterinario né la ricerca sottoposta a revisione tra pari.
Record degli studi
I campi riproducono il CSV pubblicato in inglese. Le celle vuote restano vuote; consulta il dataset completo e il README per metodi e limiti.
| Record | Studio | Anno | Cani | Forma / prodotto | Formulazione | Dose riportata | Durata | Confronto | Finanziamento | Fonte |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| R001-01 | Bierer TL, Bui LM. Improvement of arthritic signs in dogs fed green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus). J Nutr. 2002;132(6 Suppl 2):1634S-1636S. Study 1 (powder). | 2002 | 32 as reported at baseline (Control 15, GLM 17); figures report 15 and 17. Authors state that dogs not completing the study 'were dropped from the results and are not included here'; the number dropped is NR, so the true number randomised may be higher. | GLM powder supplied by McFarlane Laboratories, Australia | A - whole/freeze-dried powder | >34 kg = 1000 mg GLM powder/d; 34-25 kg = 750 mg/d; <25 kg = 450 mg/d | 6 weeks | Control diet (same base diet, no GLM) | Supported by Waltham USA; both authors at Waltham USA; symposium sponsored by Waltham Centre for Pet Nutrition | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1634S |
| R001-02 | Bierer & Bui 2002 (as above). Study 2 (GLM incorporated into a semi-moist treat). | 2002 | 33 as reported at baseline (Control 16, GLM treat 17); figures report 16 and 17. Authors state that dogs not completing the study 'were dropped from the results and are not included here'; the number dropped is NR, so the true number randomised may be higher. | PEDIGREE JointCare Treats (Mars) | B - incorporated into food/treat | >34 kg = 1000 mg GLM/d (2 pieces); 34-25 kg = 750 mg/d (1.5 pieces); <25 kg = 450 mg/d (1 piece) | 6 weeks | Control diet, no treats | As Study 1 | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1634S |
| R001-03 | Bierer & Bui 2002 (as above). Study 3 (GLM incorporated into a dry main meal at 0.3%). | 2002 | 31 as reported at baseline (Control 17, GLM main meal 14). Authors state that dogs not completing the study 'were dropped from the results and are not included here'; the number dropped is NR, so the true number randomised may be higher. | WALTHAM Veterinary Diet Canine Joint Support | B - incorporated into food/treat | Final inclusion level of 0.3% GLM powder; 'designed to deliver a GLM dosage similar to that of the two previous studies' | 6 weeks | Control diet (same recipe without GLM) | As Study 1 | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1634S |
| R001-04 | Bui LM, Bierer TL. Influence of green lipped mussels (Perna canaliculus) in alleviating signs of arthritis in dogs. Vet Ther. 2003;4(4):397-407. (A second PubMed record, Vet Ther 2001;2(2):101-111, PMID 19753702, carries an identical abstract.) | 2003 | 31 | NR (abstract only; full text not accessed) | B - incorporated into food/treat | 0.3% GLM powder in dry diet | 6 weeks | Same base diet without GLM | NR (abstract only; full text not accessed) | https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15136981/ |
| R001-05 | Dobenecker B, Beetz Y, Kienzle E. A placebo-controlled double-blind study on the effect of nutraceuticals (chondroitin sulfate and mussel extract) in dogs with joint diseases as perceived by their owners. J Nutr. 2002;132(6 Suppl 2):1690S-1691S. | 2002 | 70 randomised; 58 completed | Greenshell mussel powder; Waitaki, New Zealand | A - whole/freeze-dried powder | 11 mg mussel extract per kg body weight per day | 12 weeks | Placebo (55.5% wheat-malt meal, 30% oat flakes, honey, 1% soybean oil, chicken extract, cellulose); chondroitin sulfate 22 mg/kg/d | Not reported (symposium sponsored by Waltham) | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/132.6.1690S |
| R001-06 | Servet E, Biourge V, Marniquet P. Dietary intervention can improve clinical signs in osteoarthritic dogs. J Nutr. 2006;136(7 Suppl):1995S-1997S. | 2006 | 91 recruited; 85 completed | Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Mobility Support | B - incorporated into food/treat | GLM powder 0.3% of finished feed | Fed 45 d after 5-d transition; assessed at day 50 | None (previous diets as baseline) | Financial support provided by Royal Canin; all authors at Royal Canin Research Center | https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/136.7.1995S |
| R001-07 | Pollard B, Guilford WG, Ankenbauer-Perkins KL, Hedderley D. Clinical efficacy and tolerance of an extract of green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus) in dogs presumptively diagnosed with degenerative joint disease. N Z Vet J. 2006;54(3):114-118. | 2006 | 142 presented; 84 eligible; 81 analysed (3 excluded); 70 with complete datasets for repeated-measures ANOVA | SF4 Dog (McFarlane Laboratories NZ Ltd); 125 mg GLME + 52.86 mg brewer's yeast + 191.50 mg lactose + tableting aid per tablet | A? - 'GLME' tablet (form not specified; same supplier as R001-01 powder) | By body weight: 5-15 kg 3 tablets; 16-20 kg 5; 21-25 kg 6; 26-45 kg 8; 46-65 kg 9 (125 mg GLME per tablet), daily | 56 days blinded; + 56 days open-label GLME for all dogs (to day 112) | Placebo tablet: same ingredients with GLME replaced by dried fin-fish | McFarlane Laboratories NZ Ltd provided financial support; stated objective of open-label phase was 'to provide the manufacturer ... with commercially-relevant information' | https://doi.org/10.1080/00480169.2006.36622 |
| R001-08 | Hielm-Bjorkman A, Tulamo RM, Salonen H, Raekallio M. Evaluating complementary therapies for canine osteoarthritis Part I: green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus). Evid Based Complement Alternat Med. 2009;6(3):365-373. | 2009 | 51 allocated; 45 completed (15 per group) | Lyproflex 500 mg (ICENI, OMNI nutraceuticals / Biofarm Oy, Finland) | A - whole/freeze-dried powder | 4 (<=40 kg BW) or 6 (>40 kg) capsules/day for 10 days, then half of the loading dose; authors: 'an initial dose of 20-49 mg/kg/day' | 8 weeks (+ follow-up at week 12) | Placebo (lactose capsules) and carprofen 2 mg/kg BID | Finnish Foundation of Veterinary Research; Helvi Knuuttila Foundation; force plate purchase funded by grants incl. Finnish Kennel Club, Pfizer Finland, Boehringer Ingelheim, Vetcare Finland, Heel | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC2722199/ |
| R001-09 | Mongkon N, Soontornvipart K. Preliminary study of the clinical outcome of using PCSO-524 polyunsaturated fatty acid compound in the treatment of canine osteoarthritis and degenerative spinal diseases. Thai J Vet Med. 2012;42(3):311-317. | 2012 | 84 (31 hip/shoulder OA; 33 stifle OA after CCL rupture; 20 cauda equina) | PCSO-524, 50 mg/capsule (MacLab, Nelson, NZ) | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 50 mg per 10 kg daily | Stated 12 weeks; clinical assessment at weeks 2 and 4; radiographs at weeks 4 and 12 | None | Not reported | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/10987 |
| R001-10 | Rialland P, Bichot S, Lussier B, et al. Effect of a diet enriched with green-lipped mussel on pain behavior and functioning in dogs with clinical osteoarthritis. Can J Vet Res. 2013;77(1):66-74. | 2013 | 30 enrolled; 23 completed (4 did not complete; 3 excluded for non-compliance) | Medi-Cal/Royal Canin Mobility Support JS (large breed); control: Purina Dog Chow | B - incorporated into food (multi-component therapeutic diet) | GLM content NR. Diet guaranteed analysis: EPA 0.45%, DHA 0.20%, glucosamine 1900 mg/kg, chondroitin 100 mg/kg (control diet: none) | 60 days GLM diet (after 30-day control period; 14-day transitions) | Preceding control-diet period (same dogs) | Unrestricted operating grant from Medi-Cal/Royal Canin Canada, 'used for study design, interpretation of data, and critical revision of the manuscript'; CFI and NSERC grants | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3525174/ |
| R001-11 | Soontornvipart K, Mongkhon N, Nganvongpanit K, Kongtawelert P. Effect of PCSO-524 on OA biomarkers and weight-bearing properties in canine shoulder and coxofemeral osteoarthritis. Thai J Vet Med. 2015;45(2):157-165. | 2015 | 66 | PCSO-524 (MacLab, Nelson, NZ) | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 50 mg/10 kg body weight once daily | 24 weeks in text; Table 2 lists '(8 weeks)' | Fish oil (EPA 180 + DHA 120 mg per 1000 mg capsule); text '1,000 mg/dog twice daily', Table 2 '1 capsule per dog once daily' | Not reported | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/35230 |
| R001-12 | Kongwut S, Soontornvipart K, Sarikaphuti M, Makoom P, Nganvongpanit K. Effect of serum IL-1beta of PCSO-524 and firocoxib in dogs undergoing medial patellar luxation repair. Thai J Vet Med. 2015;45(4):639-643. | 2015 | 30 | PCSO-524 | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 10 mg/kg twice daily | 2 weeks | Firocoxib 5 mg/kg SID; firocoxib + PCSO-524 | Chulalongkorn University funds (scholarship; Rachadapisek Sompote Fund) | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/43534 |
| R001-13 | Kwananocha I, Vijarnsorn M, Kashemsant N, Lekcharoensuk C. Effectiveness of disease modifying osteoarthritis agents and carprofen for treatment of canine osteoarthritis. Thai J Vet Med. 2016;46(3):363-371. | 2016 | 49 enrolled; 40 analysed (10 per group) | PCSO-524 (50 mg + olive oil 100 mg per capsule) | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | Two capsules, q12hr PO (fixed, not weight-based) | 4 weeks | Carprofen 2.2 mg/kg BID; glucosamine-chondroitin-ASU; carprofen + PCSO-524 | Pharmalink International (partial research funding, acknowledgements) | https://he01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/tjvm/article/view/69477 |
| R001-14 | Vijarnsorn M, Kwananocha I, Kashemsant N, et al. The effectiveness of marine based fatty acid compound (PCSO-524) and firocoxib in the treatment of canine osteoarthritis. BMC Vet Res. 2019;15:349. Correction: BMC Vet Res. 2020;16 (competing interests). | 2019 | 82 enrolled; 79 analysed | Antinol (Pharmalink); 50 mg PCSO-524 + 100 mg olive oil per capsule | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 4 capsules/day, q24hr PO (fixed) | 28 days | Firocoxib 5 mg/kg SID (+ PCSO-524 placebo: sunflower seed oil capsule) | Funded by Pharmalink International Ltd. | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6798752/ |
| R001-15 | Corbee RJ. The efficacy of a nutritional supplement containing green-lipped mussel, curcumin and blackcurrant leaf extract in dogs and cats with osteoarthritis. Vet Med Sci. 2022;8:1025-1035. | 2022 | Dogs: 39 recruited; 32 completed (cats reported separately, excluded here) | Synopet Cani-Syn (Synofit Europe B.V.) | E - multi-ingredient product | 10-30 kg: 5 mL/day; 30-45 kg: 7.5 mL/day; >45 kg: 10 mL/day (Table 1) | Table 1: 40 days of treatment per period (>=10 kg); text: '16 weeks per period' | Placebo (water, locust bean gum, colourants, synthetic fish aroma) | Product and placebo provided by Synofit Europe B.V.; funding source otherwise NR in PMC version | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9122405/ |
| R001-16 | Kampa N, Kaenkangploo D, Jitpean S, et al. Study of the effectiveness of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate, marine based fatty acid compounds (PCSO-524 and EAB-277), and carprofen for the treatment of dogs with hip osteoarthritis. Front Vet Sci. 2023;10:1033188. PCSO-524 arm. | 2023 | 85 enrolled (10 dropouts); 75 analysed | Antinol (Pharmalink); 50 mg PCSO-524 + 100 mg olive oil per capsule | C - stabilised lipid extract (PCSO-524) | 5 mg/kg body weight (1 capsule/10 kg) q24hr | 6 weeks | Placebo (sunflower seed oil capsule); glucosamine/chondroitin; EAB-277; carprofen | Funded by Pharmalink International Ltd.; supported by Khon Kaen University | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9929184/ |
| R001-17 | Kampa et al. 2023 (as R001-16). EAB-277 arm. | 2023 | As R001-16 | Antinol Rapid (Pharmalink); 50 mg EAB-277 per capsule | D - GLM lipid + krill oil (EAB-277) | 5 mg/kg body weight q24hr | 6 weeks | As R001-16 | As R001-16 | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9929184/ |
| R001-18 | Kampa N, Kaenkangploo D, Jitpean S, et al. Evaluation of the comparative efficacy of green lipped mussel plus krill oil extracts (EAB-277), Biota orientalis extracts or NSAIDs for the treatment of dogs with osteoarthritis associated pain. Front Vet Sci. 2024;11:1464549. | 2024 | 101 | Antinol Rapid (Pharmalink) | D - GLM lipid + krill oil (EAB-277) | 1 capsule per 10 kg body weight twice daily | 6 weeks | Placebo (sunflower oil); 4CYTE Epiitalis Forte; meloxicam | Funded by Pharmalink International Ltd.; supported by Khon Kaen University | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11500327/ |
| R001-19 | Cave N, Bolton S, Cogger N. A pilot study to detect the effects of a green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus) nutraceutical on working farm dogs with musculoskeletal abnormalities using accelerometry. N Z Vet J. 2024. | 2024 | 32 enrolled; 27 analysed | Lintbells Ltd. product (brand not named) | A? - full fat GLM extract/powder in tablet | 1 tablet/day containing 180 mg or 220 mg full fat GLME (~1 g tablet) | 8 weeks per period | Placebo tablet | Funded by Lintbells Ltd. (manufacturer) | https://doi.org/10.1080/00480169.2024.2379966 |
| R001-20 | Kashemsant N, Panitsillapakit P, Vijarnsorn M, Lekcharoensuk C, Yangtara S, Pooliam J, Lascelles BDX. Short-term effects of meloxicam and marine-based fatty acid compounds on objective limb loading and owner-reported outcomes in dogs with hip osteoarthritis: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Preprints.org, posted 20 Sep 2026 (not peer reviewed). | 2026 | 313 screened; 203 randomised; 198 completed week 4 (modified ITT, available-case) | Antinol / Antinol Rapid (Pharmalink); capsule content not stated | C and D | PCSO-524 'target dose of 5 mg/kg once daily'; EAB-277 'target dose of 5 mg/kg once daily' | 4 weeks | Placebo (sunflower-oil capsule + meloxicam vehicle, double-dummy); meloxicam 0.1 mg/kg; meloxicam + PCSO-524 | Pharmalink International Ltd. (study-related expenses and study products); in-kind support from Kasetsart University | https://doi.org/10.20944/preprints202609.1701.v1 |
| R001-21 | Kim et al. Efficacy and safety assessment of a dietary supplement in a rat model of osteoarthritis and dogs with arthritic signs. Animals. 2025;15(13):1825. Canine component only. | 2025 | 30 dogs | BYVET JOINT HEAL (EreBon, Korea; manufactured by Nutrizone Corp., Auckland, NZ) | E - multi-ingredient product | 1 g for dogs <5 kg, 2 g for 5-10 kg, 3 g for 10-20 kg, 4 g for >20 kg (product per day) | 8 weeks | None (before-after) | Funded by EreBon Co. (#23-018), which also paid the publication charge and supervised adherence to protocol; ethics approval by EreBon Corp. IACUC | https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12249017/ |
Come citare
Tang, M. (2026). Canine green-lipped mussel trials: formulation, dose, duration and washout (Dogevera Research 001) (Version 1.0) [Data set]. Zenodo. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23253764
Licenza: CC BY 4.0Download e documentazione
Dichiarazione di trasparenza
Dogevera è un'azienda commerciale dedicata al benessere canino. Vende prodotti a base di cozza verde, oggetto del Progetto Research 001, e un integratore contenente HMB, oggetto del Progetto Research 002. Dogevera Research è un'iniziativa di organizzazione delle evidenze gestita da Dogevera e riporta ciò che gli studi mostrano, qualunque sia la direzione dei risultati. Salvo indicazione esplicita, gli autori degli studi citati non hanno esaminato né approvato queste risorse e non hanno partecipato alla loro preparazione. Le correzioni sono benvenute all'indirizzo morty@dogevera.com e verranno riconosciute.
