Canine joint and mobility evidence

August 24, 2026

Green-lipped mussel for dogs: what canine studies can and cannot tell us

Understand canine green-lipped mussel studies and their formulation limits.

Written and reviewed by , CEO

Dogevera Research evidence review: green-lipped mussel for dogs, what the studies can and cannot tell us. 18 canine publications reviewed, 21 study arms recorded in an open dataset, 5 types of mussel preparation tested.

We sell this powder. It was not the product tested in the studies discussed here.

TL;DR

Green-lipped mussel has shown positive signals in some canine trials, with improvements in selected mobility, pain, and owner-assessed measures, but the overall research record is mixed and varied by outcome.

How we read this research

We sell a green-lipped mussel powder, so we did not want to summarize this research from memory or from other brands' marketing. We went through every canine clinical study of a mussel-containing product for joint or musculoskeletal problems that we could find: 21 study arms from 18 publications. For each one we recorded the exact preparation, the dose as the authors reported it, how long the dogs were treated, what the product was compared with, and who paid for the study.

That dataset is open and free to cite: Dogevera Research 001 on Zenodo (DOI 10.5281/zenodo.23253764), with a protocol registered on OSF. Every record cites its original paper, so you can check our work line by line. The dataset records how each study was designed rather than ranking which product works, and study authors are invited to correct any entry. You can see all of our research projects on the Dogevera Research page.

What is green-lipped mussel?

Green-lipped mussel, Perna canaliculus, is native to New Zealand. Depending on how it is processed, a product may contain protein, minerals, glycosaminoglycans, and marine lipids, including several fatty acids.

"Green-lipped mussel" is therefore an ingredient name, not a standardized clinical formulation. Two containers can carry the same ingredient name while differing in the amount of mussel material, lipid composition, processing method, storage stability, and daily serving.

This is one reason research summaries that treat all GLM products as interchangeable are misleading.

What did the dog studies find?

An early double-blind trial enrolled 31 dogs with signs of arthritis and tested a complete dry diet containing 0.3% green-lipped mussel powder. The researchers reported improvement in total arthritis score and some individual measures, including pain and swelling. They did not find significant improvement in every measure, such as range of motion and crepitus.

A later placebo-controlled study evaluated a stabilized green-lipped mussel product in 45 dogs with osteoarthritis. It found improvement on some veterinarian-assessed measures. Carprofen, the active drug comparator, produced a larger and faster effect. That is an important result because it argues against presenting GLM as equivalent to a prescription anti-inflammatory medication.

Other studies have evaluated GLM-enriched diets, proprietary marine lipid extracts such as PCSO-524, or products that combine mussel-derived ingredients with other components. Some reported better owner scores, force-plate measurements, or mobility assessments. Several had no placebo group, small samples, short follow-up, manufacturer funding, or outcomes that did not all move in the same direction.

The comparative trial in 2023 followed 75 dogs with hip osteoarthritis over 6 weeks. It evaluated specified marine fatty-acid products, glucosamine with chondroitin, carprofen and placebo. Results differed by outcome, including force-plate measures and subjective orthopedic assessments. It did not test Dogevera powder or establish that whole-mussel powders and concentrated extracts are interchangeable.

The fair reading is this: specific GLM preparations have produced positive signals in some canine studies, but the overall record is mixed and formulation-specific.

The controlled dog studies at a glance

These are the controlled studies most often cited for green-lipped mussel in dogs. The list shows how each study was set up, not whether it worked; read each paper for its results.

  • Dobenecker et al. 2002: 58 dogs completed (70 randomised). Mussel powder for 12 weeks, compared with a placebo and with chondroitin. Funding not reported.
  • Bui and Bierer 2003: 31 dogs. A dry diet containing 0.3% green-lipped mussel powder for 6 weeks, compared with the same diet without it. Funding not reported in the abstract.
  • Pollard et al. 2006: 81 dogs analysed. Green-lipped mussel extract tablets for 56 days, compared with a placebo tablet. Funded by the product's manufacturer.
  • Hielm-Björkman et al. 2009: 45 dogs completed. Mussel powder capsules for 8 weeks, compared with a placebo and with carprofen. Funded by research foundations.
  • Rialland et al. 2013: 23 dogs completed. A therapeutic diet containing mussel and other joint ingredients for 60 days, compared with the same dogs' earlier control-diet period. Supported by a grant from the diet's maker.
  • Vijarnsorn et al. 2019: 79 dogs analysed. A concentrated mussel lipid extract (PCSO-524) for 28 days, compared with firocoxib. Funded by the product's manufacturer.
  • Kampa et al. 2023: 75 dogs analysed. Two lipid extracts (PCSO-524, and EAB-277 with krill oil) for 6 weeks, compared with a placebo, glucosamine with chondroitin, and carprofen. Funded by the products' manufacturer, with university support.
  • Cave et al. 2024: 27 dogs analysed. Full-fat green-lipped mussel tablets in a crossover design, 8 weeks per period, compared with a placebo. Funded by the product's manufacturer.

Three patterns stand out. The preparations differ widely, from whole powder to concentrated oil. Most studies lasted 4 to 12 weeks. And many were paid for by the company that made the product being tested. None of this makes the results wrong, but it is worth knowing before you read a claim that cites them.

Powder and lipid extract are not the same thing

Whole mussel powder contains a broad mixture of nutrients. A lipid extract concentrates a much narrower portion of the mussel. A complete therapeutic diet adds another layer because the food itself may differ in calories, fatty acids, antioxidants, or other joint-support ingredients.

Four kinds of green-lipped mussel preparation tested in controlled dog studies: whole mussel powder (Dobenecker 2002, Hielm-Björkman 2009), mussel extract tablets (Pollard 2006, Cave 2024), mussel inside a dog food (Bui and Bierer 2003, Rialland 2013) and concentrated lipid extract (Vijarnsorn 2019, Kampa 2023). Dogevera sells whole mussel powder, which was not tested in these studies.
The four preparation types behind the controlled studies listed above. Data: Dogevera Research 001.

These distinctions affect both dose and interpretation. Five milligrams of a proprietary lipid extract cannot be compared gram-for-gram with five milligrams of whole mussel powder. Likewise, a trial of a GLM-enriched diet does not prove that sprinkling an unrelated amount of powder over a different food will reproduce the same result.

Dogevera's current green-lipped mussel product is a 100% New Zealand green-lipped mussel powder. The label gives a daily amount by body weight, from 0.5 g for small dogs up to 4 g for dogs over 75 lb, measured with a 1 g scoop. The powder has not been used as the finished product in the published canine trials discussed here, and we do not describe the label amount as a clinically established dose.

That disclosure may sound less exciting than "clinically proven." It is also the honest way to connect ingredient research to a product that has not itself been tested.

How long did the studies run?

Most of the clinical studies assessed dogs over roughly four to eight weeks. A small number followed dogs for longer. That does not establish a universal time to benefit, and it does not mean a product that has done nothing after a week simply needs a larger serving.

Mobility can change for many reasons, including pain, body weight, activity, flooring, nail length, neurological disease, and the natural fluctuation of osteoarthritis. If an older dog becomes reluctant to rise, starts slipping, or changes gait, the first step is a veterinary assessment rather than a supplement experiment.

Safety and practical cautions

GLM preparations were generally well tolerated in the available dog trials. "Generally well tolerated" is not the same as "no side effects." Most studies were too small and short to detect uncommon reactions or answer long-term safety questions.

Green-lipped mussel is a mollusk. A dog with a known or suspected reaction to mussels or shellfish should not be deliberately exposed without veterinary advice. The trials also do not establish safety for every puppy, pregnant or lactating dog, or dog with complex medical conditions.

Do not reduce or stop a prescribed pain medication because a supplement has been added. The published studies do not establish an NSAID-sparing protocol, and they do not show that GLM can replace veterinary treatment for osteoarthritis.

What to look for on a label

A useful label should tell you what form of green-lipped mussel is present, how much the dog receives per day, and whether other active ingredients are included. Be cautious when a page cites a study of a proprietary extract but sells plain powder without explaining the difference.

Ingredient panel on a jar of Dogevera green-lipped mussel powder: 100% New Zealand green-lipped mussel (Perna canaliculus) powder, nothing else added, 1,000 mg per 1 g scoop, with guaranteed analysis for moisture and ash.
Our own label as an example: the form (whole powder), the amount per scoop, and nothing else added. The daily amount by body weight is on the directions panel.

Also watch for claims that go beyond the research. Canine trials have not shown that GLM regenerates cartilage, reverses arthritis, prevents joint disease, or works as well as a prescription drug. A supplement may be one part of a mobility plan, but body weight, appropriate exercise, home traction, veterinary pain control, and rehabilitation often matter more.

A careful conclusion

Green-lipped mussel is a reasonable ingredient to study for canine mobility. Some controlled trials are encouraging. The evidence is not uniform, and it belongs to the exact preparations and doses that were tested.

For a dog already showing stiffness, pain, weakness, or gait change, use the research as a reason to have a better conversation with your veterinarian, not as a reason to diagnose or treat the problem at home.

Applying this evidence to a product decision

Keep the study preparation, the finished product and the individual dog separate. Ask whether the preparation and measured outcome match the claim being made. A label or country of origin cannot establish clinical equivalence to a trial product.

Where to go next when you are deciding what to buy

Research and shopping questions need different kinds of information. Use a clinical paper to understand the preparation and outcome studied; use a product label to understand what you would actually feed.

We sell Dogevera, so these guides disclose the connection between the ingredient and our product. They do not replace product-specific clinical evidence. If you want to inspect the powder itself, the current Dogevera page lists ingredients, feeding information and pack options.

References

For individual health questions, your veterinarian remains the best partner.

Free · The 5-minute monthly check

Dogs don’t say when the stairs get harder. This helps you notice.

  • Five quick checks: movement, weight, mouth, mind, strength
  • When to call the vet instead of waiting
  • Then one plain-English research note every other Thursday
How old is your dog? (optional)

Free. About two emails a month. Unsubscribe in one click.

More from this journal